“The Rise And Rise Of Saurashtra Is The Story Of Domestic Cricket” – Aakash Chopra Feels Jaydev Unadkat And Co Is The Most Successful Team Of The Decade

Ranji Trophy 2020-21 Winners Saurashtra

Saurashtra won their second Ranji Trophy title after beating Bengal in the final match of the tournament by nine wickets at Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Sunday 19 February. Former Indian cricketer Aakash Chopra believes that the consistent performances by the team led by Jaydev Unadkat have made them an amazing side in Indian domestic cricket for the past decade.

Notably, Saurashtra defeated Bengal in the 2019-20 Ranji Trophy final to win their first title in the domestic tournament. Saurashtra was bowled out for 404 in his first innings, taking a 230-run first innings lead. Unadkat and Sakariya pitched well to restrict the opposition to 241 in the second inning. Saurashtra chased the 12-run target for the loss of Jay Gohil’s wicket.

LPI 2023 | Australian India Tour 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Today’s Cricket Match Prediction | cricket news | Live cricket score

Welcome them with applause – Aakash Chopra

In a video shared on his YouTube channel, Aakash Chopra praised Saurashtra’s success in the Ranji Trophy, calling it the most successful team of the last decade.

“Saurashtra have become the champions of the Ranji Trophy once again. They defeated Bengal. Receive them with applause. Saurashtra’s rise and rise is the story of domestic cricket. If there is one most successful team of the last decade, it is the team of Jaydev Unadkat, Ravindra Jadeja and Cheteshwar Pujara, I mean Team Saurashtra. Aakash Chopra said.

LPI 2023 | India national cricket team | IND vs. AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

They have played five finals in the last 10 years – Aakash Chopra

The former India opener highlighted Saurashtra’s success over the past decade, with the Jaydev Unadkat-led team finishing as Ranji Trophy runners-up three times in five finals.

“If we look at the history of the last 10 years, from the 2012-13 season, they reached the final in 2012-13, then the final in 2015-16, they lost to Mumbai both times for sure. After that, they reached the final again in 2018-19 and lost to Vidharbha.

“Then Saurashtra won in 2019-20 and 2022-23. Saurashtra has done an amazing job of consistently winning. They have played five finals in the last 10 years. What an amazing team they are – the focus is on Mumbai, Delhi, Bengal, Karnataka – these are the powerhouses – but Saurashtra have quietly been doing a phenomenal job.”

Saurashtra is currently the champion of the Vijay Hazare Trophy, beating Maharashtra in the final to win their second title at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Also read: Harbhajan Singh Reacts On Twitter As Venkatesh Prasad And Aakash Chopra Engage In War Of Words Over KL Rahul

virat kohli | rohit sharma | Rishabh trousers | Raul KL | Suryakumar Yadav | sanju samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah